September 13, 2014 @ 6:00 PM – 9:30 PM
$10 General, $5 w/Paperback Purchase, Free w/Hardcover Purchase

Author/Screenwriter of such titles as Mystic River, Gone Baby Gone, and Shutter Island Dennis Lehane will appear at the Jean Cocteau Cinema to read from his latest book, The Drop. The reading will include an interview followed by Q&A.

51TDdKKlNnL 1404337199

The Drop has been adapted to film and is the basis for the movie of the same title that is being released this September by Fox Searchlight Pictures. Dennis Lehane wrote the screenplay for The Drop film which stars Tom Hardy and the late James Gandolfini. As expected Mr. Lehane will also introduce a unique FREE screening of the The Drop film which opens in Santa Fe September 19th.


THE DROP – is a new crime drama from Michaël R. Roskam, the Academy Award nominated director of BULLHEAD. Based on a screenplay from Dennis Lehane (MYSTIC RIVER, GONE BABY GONE), THE DROP follows lonely bartender Bob Saginowski (Tom Hardy) through a covert scheme of funneling cash to local gangsters – “money drops” – in the underworld of Brooklyn bars. Under the heavy hand of his employer and cousin Marv (James Gandolfini), Bob finds himself at the center of a robbery gone awry and entwined in an investigation that digs deep into the neighborhood’s past where friends, families, and foes all work together to make a living – no matter the cost.

In addition to having written several novels that were subsequently adapted to film, Dennis Lehane, has written multiple teleplays and serves as a creative consultant and writer for the HBO’s Boardwalk Empire. He formerly served as a staff writer for the award-winning HBO series The Wire. For his work on The Wire he received a WGA Award for “Best Dramatic Series” and an Edgar Award for “Best Television Feature/Mini-Series Teleplay.”




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>